W2_Abdullah Al Ansari _ RACI Matrix’s Implementation.

POSTED ON Monday, 15 Aug 2016, 21:40 BY Abdullah Al Ansari

  1. Problem Definition

The company assigned me as “Sr/Operation Engineer”. For this position I need to identify successfully the works handled by the team members. The team consists of 12 members with different specializations. The main work areas are Planning, Cost & Reporting, Execution and HSE & Risk Monday .

  1. 2. Identify the Feasible Alternative

To help me on this, I use RACI Matrix’s Technique. The Matrix is about all the activities or decision making authorities undertaken in an organization set against all the people or roles. At each intersection of activity and role it is possible to assign somebody responsible, accountable, consulted or informed for that activity or decision.

RACI-1

Figure.1: RACI Definitions

 

  1. 3. Development of the Outcome for Alternative

To implement RACI Matrix’s, I listed all the activities assigned to Well Services Department. I categorized these activities among the main work areas (Planning, Cost & Reporting, Execution and HSE &Risk).

Planning ‘standalone’ unit/well Sequence
Well service input during ‘well pick session’ and during well design process
‘post drilling’ Well Proposal
post drilling’ Well Program
Cost & reporting Budgeting and AFE
Reporting (Operation and HSE)
Qa/Qc Operation Reports
Qa/Qc HSE (incidents) Report
Execution Coordination of Material within the field
Overall Performance Monitoring
Overall  Program Execution
Overall site Supervision and control.
Technical Approval of Services
Financial approval of services _Invoices
Location construction management
Acceptance of site location
Perform Quality Management
Perform Change Management
Review Project Completion
HSE & Risk Perform HSSE Management

Table-1: The Team Activities List.

After this, I distributed the (responsible, accountable, consulted or informed) for each single activity.

 

 

  1. Selection of Criteria

The following table shows the team RACI Matrix.

  Well Delivery Manager Head of WS Senior Well Engineer-standalone Site Supervisor- standalone Material Logistic coordinator Well Cost Controller C&P Finance PE Operation Facility HSSE
Category Tasks                        
Planning standalone’ unit/well Sequence C A R R I I NA I A C I NA
Planning Well service input during ‘well pick session’ and during well design process C R R C NA NA NA NA A C C I
Planning ‘post drilling’ Well Proposal C A R R I NA NA NA R NA NA I
Planning post drilling’ Well Program C A R C I I NA NA C I NA I
Cost & reporting Budgeting and AFE A R R R I R NA I I NA NA NA
Cost & reporting Reporting (Operation and HSE) I C A R I I NA NA I I NA I
Cost & reporting Qa/Qc NPT Reports I C A R NA I NA NA I NA NA NA
Cost & reporting Qa/Qc Operation Reports I R A R NA I NA NA R NA NA I
Execution Coordination of Material within the field I I C R A I NA NA NA NA NA NA
Execution Overall Performance Monitoring C A R R NA I I NA I I NA I
Execution Overall  Program Execution C A R R NA NA NA Na I NA NA I
Execution Overall site Supervision and control. I C R A NA NA NA NA I NA NA I
Execution Technical Approval of Services C R A R NA I NA NA R I NA I
Execution Financial approval of services _Invoices A C C I I R NA I C NA NA NA
Execution Location construction management C A C C NA I NA NA R R I I
Execution Acceptance of site location C A R R NA NA NA NA C C C C
Execution Perform Quality Management C A R R I NA I NA I I I NA
Execution Perform Acceptance Management C A R C C NA I NA C NA NA I
Execution Perform Cost Management C A R R I R I R I NA NA NA
Execution Perform Change Management A R R R NA NA I I I I NA I
Execution
Review Project Completion
A R R I I I I NA I NA NA I
HSE & Risk Perform HSSE Management C I R R NA NA NA NA I I NA A

Table.2: The Team RACI Matrix

The RACI Matrix clearly identifies the involvement of each team member in each activity.

 

 

 

  1. Analysis of the Alternative.

This result will be useful for:

  • Workload Analysis: when used against individuals or departments overloads can be quickly identified.
  • Re-organization: to ensure that key functions and processes are not overlooked.
  • Employee Turnover: newcomers can quickly identify their roles and responsibilities.
  • Work Assignment: allows duties to be redistributed effectively between groups and individuals.
  • Project Management: allows for flexibility in matrix management situations allowing for the right balance between line and project accountabilities.
  • Conflict Resolution: provides a forum for discussion and resolving inter-departmental conflict.
  • Documents the Status Quo: the output from RACI is a simple yet effective method of documenting the roles and responsibilities in an organization.

 

  1. Selection of the Preferred Alternative.

By referring to RACI Matrix, it will be clear to the team members what everybody is responsible for. Also it will be easy for me to track the deliverables of the team, and to set a proper competency plans for the team members. The work delegation, during the absence of each member will be more accurate.

In summary, RACI matrix is a great project management tool that greatly improves the communication within the team and helps getting the tasks done faster. If used right it would reduce the amount of email noise (getting emails for tasks that you don’t need to be informed of) and helps the whole team to stay productive.

  1. 7. Performance Monitoring and the Post Evaluation of Result.

As we have a weekly team meeting to discuss the work progress and highlight the issues during last week. We can monitor the RACI Matrix and update it in the team performance review session.

 

 

 

  1. References
  1. Balaji Viswanathan (2014, April). Understanding Responsibility Assignment Matrix (RACI Matrix). Retrieved Aug 02, 2016, from http://www.catalystonline.com/wpcontent/uploads/2010/11/Catalyst_Desk_Ref.jpg
  2. Project Smart Articles (2008, December). How to Do RACI Charting and Analysis: A Practical Guide Retrieved Aug 02, 2016, from http://www.projectsmart.co.uk/how-to-do-raci-charting-and-analysis.php.
  1. Adivision Inc. (2013, August). Simplified RACI Chart. Retrieved Aug 02, 2016, from http://pinpoint.microsoft.com/en-us/applications/simplified-raci-chart-12884943605